Chemicals without Harm: A Conversation about Safer Alternatives with Ken Geiser

Call from Wednesday, January 13, 2016 (9:00 am Alaska Time; 10:00 am Pacific; 1:00 pm Eastern) Presentation Recording  Today, there are thousands of synthetic chemicals used to make our clothing, cosmetics, household products, electronic devices, even our children’s toys. Many of these chemicals help us live longer and more comfortable lives, but some of these

Community-Based Participatory Research in the Arctic: Sources of Environmental Contaminants on St. Lawrence Island, Alaska

Call from Tuesday, November 10, 2015 Recording Frank von Hippel Presentation  Sam Byrne Presentation  Resources Concerns over increases in the level of cancers, reproductive problems, and thyroid disease on St. Lawrence Island prompted the Yupik communities of Gambell and Savoonga to engage in research to better understand sources of environmental contaminants that may be linked