Tackling_Toxics

Home/Tackling_Toxics

Podcast Available – State of the Science: Children’s Environmental Health in Alaska and the Circumpolar North

CHE-Alaska Teleconference recorded January 31, 2018 9:00 AM Alaska Time (10:00 am Pacific; Noon Central; 1:00 pm Eastern) Listen to the podcast Sarah B. Petras Presentation Slides (PDF) About the call: Children in Alaska and the Circumpolar North experience disproportionate exposures to toxic chemicals that may have long-term negative health consequences, such as neuro-developmental effects,

Podcast Available: New Study Shows Link between Flame Retardants and Children’s Social Behavior

CHE-Alaska Teleconference, Recorded Tuesday, April 25 Listen to recording Presentation Slides (PDF) Some chemicals added to consumer products to prevent fires may have unintended developmental consequences for young children, according to a pilot study conducted by researchers at Oregon State University. The study recruited 92 Oregon children between ages 3-5 to wear a silicone wristband