Wednesday, July 20, 9:00 AM Alaska Time (10:00 AM Pacific; 1:00 PM Eastern)

Sign up

Presentation Slides (PDF)

Alaska kidsThe chance that a child will develop a neurodevelopmental disorder has risen dramatically in the last 20 years. During the same period, a growing body of scientific research has produced robust evidence that environmental chemicals can play a significant role in neurodevelopmental disorders, including autism, ADHD, and learning disabilities. Researchers and clinicians have been working to identify how chemicals in our environment are contributing to these disorders. Project TENDR (Targeting Environmental Neuro-Developmental Risks) has convened nearly 50 top experts who will be publishing a consensus statement that can help chart a course forward toward preventing disability and disease. The new consensus statement will be released in early July. Join us for a discussion with Project TENDR Co-Chairs Ms. Maureen Swanson, representing the Learning Disabilities Association and its Healthy Children Project and Dr. Irva Hertz-Picciotto, an environmental epidemiologist whose pioneering work has identified a broad array of environmental factors linked to altered risks for autism spectrum disorders and other developmental delays. Ms. Swanson and other Project TENDR experts will also be featured speakers at the Alaska Children’s Environmental Health Summit in Anchorage this fall, a two day event on October 5 & 6, 2016 focusing on environmental health and health disparities of children “at the top of the world.”