ACAT News & Updates

Toxic-Free Children Act – How YOU Can Help!

Protecting Alaska’s children from exposure to toxic chemicals – how you can help!

The Toxic Free Children Act (HB 53 / HB 27) is a state bill that would ban ten toxic flame retardants in children’s products and furniture. Chemicals used to make products such as toys and furniture are not regulated or tested for safety. These chemicals harm our health. They have a range of health effects, including learning and developmental disabilities, cancers, and reproductive impairment. Children are especially vulnerable.

By |February 8th, 2018|Categories: Home Posts|0 Comments

Podcast Available – State of the Science: Children’s Environmental Health in Alaska and the Circumpolar North

CHE-Alaska Teleconference recorded January 31, 2018

9:00 AM Alaska Time (10:00 am Pacific; Noon Central; 1:00 pm Eastern)

Listen to the podcast

Sarah B. Petras Presentation Slides (PDF)

About the call:

Children in Alaska and the Circumpolar North experience disproportionate exposures to toxic chemicals that may have long-term negative health consequences, such as neuro-developmental effects, cancer, birth defects, metabolic disorders, and compromised immune systems. Hear a summary of the scientific evidence

By |January 21st, 2018|Categories: Uncategorized|Comments Off on Podcast Available – State of the Science: Children’s Environmental Health in Alaska and the Circumpolar North

ACAT Hiring NOW! Phone canvassers needed

If you like talking with people and you want to change the world, we’ve got a job for you! 

ACAT is looking for the right people for our team of phone canvassers. The canvass will run from Feb. 5 through 22, Mon.-Thurs. (training on Feb. 2). If you want to join ACAT’s team, please follow the link to find the

By |January 15th, 2018|Categories: Home Posts, Job Opportunities|Comments Off on ACAT Hiring NOW! Phone canvassers needed